UA-100768763-1 Jump to content

A lurker finally comes out of hiding

Hello all, let me introduce myself.

I'm a college student from Manila, Philippines, who has just recently gotten (back) into toy collecting this year. I started out collecting Stikfas, which has become my "gateway drug" into other toys like urban vinyl (i.e. Bearbricks and those crazy-priced Kidrobot minis) and block figures.

I discovered Minimates just a few months ago (sometime around April, I think), through a choice link to a fascinating-looking post on the incomparable Minimate Headquarters (specifically the entry lamenting Minimate Ghost Rider's lack of an official Hellcycle). My interest was definitely piqued, but since Minimates are oh-so tragically hard to find here (damn Superhero Squad epidemic!). I was THIS close to putting the little guys out of my mind forever. Thank God I never did.

I bought my first Minimates, the movie Spiderman and New Goblin two-pack, sometime around August I think. I had no intentions of becoming a completist, but it was still surprising how quickly this newfound obsession spiralled out of control for me. As of now I own 21 Minimates (with two more coming in the mail, and at least eight further up in the horizon), and I have fallen in love with each and every of 'em. Mind you, I was never a comic book-reader: I am one of those people who have stumbled upon a cool-looking toy, and wound up being pulled into the entire freakin' Marvel Universe. Now my family probably thinks I'm a total comic book nerd, despite me owning exactly one bonafide graphic novel (Watchmen, which I'm in the middle of reading right now... and yes, I want them in Minimate form too).