UA-100768763-1 Jump to content

Wizkids games closed down..... Heroclixs no more

winkerbean

now over the past years i've only bought a few brick of clix here and there but this came as a HUGE!! shock....

The Topps Company announced today that WizKids will immediately cease operations and discontinue its product lines.

Scott Silverstein, CEO of Topps, said “This was an extremely difficult decision. While the company will still actively pursue gaming initiatives, we feel it is necessary to align our efforts more closely with Topps current sports and entertainment offerings which are being developed within our New York office.”

must be a sign of the times

Edited by winkerbean

I am actually quite new to collecting toy/action figures & when the 'speculative loss' of the Marvel license was all the talk here not so very long ago I couldn't believe my own feelings :sad: . Sometimes there is speculation here now & again about "How many Waves will there be?" & ,again, I actually shudder. Some poor bugger out there must love Heroclix as much as I (we) love Minimates & tonight I genuinely feel sorry for him. Sad.

Edited by buttheadsmate

I'm a bit of a boardgame geek and IMO HeroClix did two things wrong...

Firstly and probably the most important is they made the game blind boxed collectable, so people ended up having to buy way more than they should to play the game, let alone get a full set of figures. In theory this is great for the company as they make more money but it drives all but the hard core gamers with cash to burn away!

The Second was the ruleset that started fairly simple and just got more and more convoluted and contradictory as went by so it became in accessable for anyone to new to the game to pick up and enjoy.

I haven't really played much clix due to the above but I know we have people here who have and I'm sure they'd agree with me.

T.