UA-100768763-1 Jump to content

Coping w/ Death

MiniMage

I close relative of mine died recently. I can't say too many details. We're dealing w/ it quite well. Me and him were quite close, and he was fun to be with. Then I wondered how you guys cope w/ this kind of thing.

P.S. Mods delete/move this if you wish, I shall not object.

Hi,

First of all, you have my deepest condolences about your loss. I'm very sorry to hear that you've lost a loved one. While I've been through this myself many times, I don't pretend to know what you're going through. Also, I don't know your spiritual beliefs, if any, so I won't make any assumptions or comment on that end of things. I have some experience in the counseling field, although by no means am I a professional. You may want to seek professional counseling and I recommend doing that. My advice with be a little of that and a little of my own past experience. I hope that it helps.

I'm glad to hear that you're taking it well, all things considered. You mention that "we're dealing with it quite well". I assume the "we" is your family? In times like this, it's very important and helpful to give/receive comfort from your loved ones. Family and friends. Reach out to them. Keep communication open with each other and let them know how you're feeling/what you're thinking. Ask them to do the same with you. Be there for them, even if you're not talking about what happened... just your presence may have a comforting affect. This is a two-way street and they can do also do the same for you. By being open and genuine about your emotions, even if they hurt, I've found that's a very good way to handle things like this.