UA-100768763-1 Jump to content

Battle Beasts Time from Inception to Retail

fatcow

Hey guys, I didn't want to put this in the Battle Beasts thread because there is so much promo talk there and things get lost. But I was wondering why from the initial announcement and first promo gator in 2009 it has taken till Q4 of 2012 to have the Battle Beasts released? Was there a design overhaul? Did they just make the Gator promo without really thinking about the rest of the line?

Is it safe to assume that Battle Beasts is the most carefully planned and marketing Minimate line to date ( before release )? I'm relatively new to the world of minimates and a lot of you understand how things work internally so I'm wondering what took so long in getting them out? I am very grateful that we are finally getting them and have nothing to complain about, just genuinely curious.

They were just biding their time, making sure they got it right. I think since they own BB outright, there was to rush to produce it, because they had other things to work on. But without Max and Pirates, they had more resources to devote to BB. So either they cared too much, or not enough. :P

Part of the wait may have been that they were trying to work out a deal for a product tie-in of some kind, which ended up being the comic book series. Also the initial "look" we saw with the gators and the action figure prototypes may have been too close in style to the '80s toys, since they need to distance the new line from them, so finding a new style that worked might have taken a while.

As Dino said, we were told all along by DST that they were going to take their time to get it right.