UA-100768763-1 Jump to content

Minimates Laptop Decals?

Hey there...I am fairly new to the site and I have only been collecting for about 2 months now and own about 50 various minimates. These things are addictive..so many cool figures. I do have a question about decals of these guys. I am a graphic designer and was at a time a comic book artist for a little while. I had a thought of turning some of my drawings of minimates characters into decals...mostly just cut out of black vinyl as I have a vinyl cutter at my home. The would be for applying to laptop computers or macbooks...gaming systems and car windows..etc. I just wanted to know if this is something that people would be interested in or if it is even a possibility to do? I mean I can do it...just didn't know about the trademark infringment possibilities? Anyway, just and idea I wanted to throw out there and see what you guys thought...thanks for any feedback.

First off, welcome to the boards (and being addicted).

Secondly, I would love a Minimate car window decal and I don't think I'd be alone in this. Having said that, I doubt it's totally legal. You can always just do it and find out later or you can always ask DST and find out for certain. But if you end up doing it (even just for yourself) I'm totally interested. And again, welcome aboard.

Yes, welcome welcome!

Unless you're selling them, I doubt that you'd run into much trouble with DST. And, as long as you're just doing blanks, it shouldn't be a problem. Now, if you make decals of Minimate Spidey and sell them for five bucks on a website, you might get a cease and desist, but other then that I think you'll be fine. Cool idea, though! I'll get some!

Can you do a Minimate peeing on a Shocker Toys logo?

Or maybe a Blammoid?

I'm certainly interested. I think my preference would be a Minimate block figure. (no details, just shape)

Can't wait to see what you're talking about.